Updates updates updates

Update 1 – Last Friday the assembly at Adi’s school was conducted by first graders. The assembly theme will be in line with school’s theme for that academic year. Β This year theme is “Made in America”. The kids from first grade sang/danced for few songs and performed sign language for a song. Girls were asked to wear red dress for the occasion. Though I had a simple backup red dress my hunt for a better dress didn’t stop until we found a beautiful one just two days before the show. Needless to say the kids performed amazingly excellent πŸ™‚

The show was from 1:30pm to 2:30pm. I took permission from work and reached her school early and spent some time at her class with all kids. I read the book “How Ganesh got his elephant head?” to them and there was so many questions about the story. I politely skipped most of the questions.. What can I do? I was helpless with questions like Is this a real story? Why did God take off the little boy’s head? Isn’t he supposed to save us? Does Shiva have the serpents on his neck even while sleeping? Why does Brahma alone has four heads?

do you pity me now? 😦

Update 2 – Adi had started semi-private swimming lessons from last week. She and a boy of her age are having the classes with an instructor. Β The first session went on for one hour and she learned blowing bubbles and breathing techniques that she is lagging. The instructor was awesome. He taught this technique using a game by name “Submarine”.. That is to see whose head stays inside water for longer time.. Adi is improving but just that one class was enough for me to realize that private lessons are way better than group lessons in terms of learning.. I will post the progress after few months.

Update 3 – Last week we had report card night for first quarter. She got the lowest grade in Math. I couldn’t believe my eyes.. A product of two Math majors (Is this why they say “vaathiyaar pillai makku?” (Eng: Teacher’s kid will be brainless). Β To be honest both of us were a little upset but we didn’t show it to her. The feedback from her teacher on Math is that she has a race with one more kid to finish first and in that hurry she misses to read last line of the question or misunderstands the question… Β  Its not that she doesn’t know its the concentration and review that is lagging. May be over confidence too… that “I know I know I know” attitude :(.. I spoke with her gently about this and she agreed to improve in next quarter. All that I told her was “Its okay if you don’t know but please don’t mess up with what you know”… What can you say when a girl who can do 54+15 with ease messes up with “5+ 3 as 7” and justifies that she thought it is 5+2…

Overall feedback was the same as K-grade. It says “She is an excellent kid but her social nature is challenging her ability to finish her own task” that means “She is off to help her friends in need to finish their task before she is done with her own task”.. Enough ranted about the report card. Let’s see the progress in next quarter.

Update 4 – She gave her carnatic vocal debut performance in an event named “Diwaleen” (Diwali+Halloween) organized by an arts company at our county. It was a super duper hit and she did an excellent job. For the past one month we have beenΒ practicingΒ every day at home like waking up for “Shyamalae meenakshi” and going to bed with “Vara shiva baalam”.. Practice definitely makes miracle. She sounded so confident while performing at the show.

Here is the audio version

Shyamalae Meenakshi

 

Vara shiva balam

And this was her costume for the event with rainbow pattu pavadai Β πŸ™‚

Update 5 – She had thanksgiving multicultural feast at school today. Her school is closing on Wednesday afternoon for thanksgiving this week. So this is going to be a long long weekend for her. I made the easy peasy coconut burfi and diamond biscuits for the feast. It didn’t turn out so well. I spent more time in adjusting the dough for biscuits and yesterday turned out to be a tedious day. For records we ate lunch at 4pm. Whatever I contributed something for the feast and few kids tasted it. That’s it.

Phewwww it looks like am done with the updates for the whole year..

18 thoughts on “Updates updates updates

  1. WOW! thats definitely a big update post

    Firstly glad she is perfectly fine health wise…

    1) Loved the red dress πŸ™‚

    I can understand the Ganesha explaining thing πŸ™‚ hugs hugs

    2) Wow to swimming lessons..they are super great na
    I need to start for R now

    3) You both are maths major!!!*Falls at feet* but dont worry yaar…I was like that only…then my mom would say ‘Read RM READ the question till you see the question mark at the end of it’ may be it will work on Adi :):)

    Hugs on her social nature..she is my rockstar

    4) I cant open the files..will do that at home πŸ™‚ but she sings *Falls at feet again* at her age!!!

    5) That burfi..you lady..are you planning to kill me slowly or something gah! it looks awesome babes πŸ™‚

    • @RM – thanks yaar.. I will ask her to look for the question mark but some questions comes without question mark na like those math word problems..
      burfi looks good and I liked it but somehow the kids didn’t like 😦

  2. That is such a good update, Ani.. This girl Adi is sure multi-talented! πŸ˜€ **Kozhandhaikku drishti suthi podunga**

    I don’t think you need to worry about the marks and all, Ani. Board exam marks-e irundha edam theriyama maranju poidudhu. 1st grade marks-ku kavalai padareengale! πŸ˜›

    All the photos are awesome. And the sweets-pic is too good. You said this was not good?? This?? This???!!

    • we are famous in making the look perfect but taste no guarantee πŸ˜€
      I liked it but somehow the kids didn’t like 😦
      its not about the marks SnS.. its about her focus and carelessness 😦

  3. First of all she looks super cute in her red dress and pattu pavadai πŸ™‚
    Does Shiva have the serpents on his neck even while sleeping? – ROFL seriously I was a dumb kid I didnot ask these questions when my mother told me these stories.
    Arey issok, she is a very talented kid and she will understand. Chill ok.
    Diwaleen is a cute name πŸ™‚ And she has a very sweet voice πŸ™‚ I loved it πŸ™‚
    Burfi and Biscuits – wowww πŸ™‚

  4. Adi looks super cute in her red and traditional dress.She sings and learning swimming wow thats nice and study part she will understand give some time .Its important to have such co-curricular activities to enhance the presonality and those sweets made me drooling πŸ™‚

  5. 1. I loved her red dress….
    Explaining Ganesha story to little curious minds is a big task….but I wonder how dumb or plain I was that I never questioned anything from the story 😦
    kuddos to you for trying out and answering question

    2. Yeah I think too that private lessons are better in begining…once she gets hang of swimming, may be then it would be ok to go in group classes…. Good luck Adi

    3. You two are math majors :-O wow….
    I’m sure as Adi grows up, she will understand the importance of reading and answering carefully….
    when I was little, I never used to finish my exam paper..not because I didn’t knew how to answer but because I didn’t feel like answering them πŸ˜‰ or because I was too tired to finish it off…..god only knows how I managed to pass those exams….my mom used to worry a lot but with time came little senses…..

    4. Will come back on the songs…..

  6. superb voice for adi, so much clarity as well great … too good..
    Adi will be good in maths, u no need worry, Ani.
    probably after a year a two, I will be learning swimming from a trainer who trained in US…
    Romba pavam…. nee, Ani …. Don know how managed those questions from kids?

  7. aww look at the red dress…it’s beautiful πŸ™‚

    and the barfis and biscuits look good to me πŸ™‚

    “it’s okay if you don’t know but don’t mess with what you know” I so agree and proud of you the way you handled that situation πŸ™‚

    done with the updates for the year,eh??? We still have December to go πŸ˜‰

    • they look good but how do they taste is also equally important na? ok ok I liked them but somehow the kids didn’t like it that much..
      I meant after typing this long post I felt like I was done for a year.. definitely there are more updates before the end of the year πŸ™‚

  8. Ani, i so want to listen to the songs but its not playing.. is it my computer or something to do with the audio format?

    The red dress looks pretty and am sure it looked gorgeous on her (send a pic without the face blurred:) i want to see:))

    and what do you mean the sweets didn’t turn out ok.. this looks so neat! i tried coconut burfi just once and it turned into halwa!

Leave a Reply

