Winter show and treat

I know I am late but need to record this in this space as a tradition.

2009 & beforeย 

2010

Adi’s Winter recital happened on Dec 6th and the girl was rocking on the stage as usual. She was part of two performances and at the end her classmate’s dad came to us and said “you guys have a dancer in your family” ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Well I wanted to shout as my gene, my gene.. For those who are not aware I have learned Bharathanatyam for few years, did my Salangai poojai at Music academy, Mylapore when I was at my first job with few more kids (yes that’s the crazy part of me.. Imagine a working girl dancing with fellow 2nd,3rd,4th grader on stage). ย Given a chance I will go back to my dance lessons anytime.. I lovvvee them.. So do you agree its my gene? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Dance class performance

First gradeย class performance

For the records Adi stillย believesย Santa. We convinced her that Santa used the same gift wrapper as we have at home just to confuse her. She was convinced more by the note left by Santa. He wrote that all in cursive and she strongly believes that we both don’t know to write in cursive. Reading the note she said “Now I know that its really Santa who gave these gifts because you guys cannot write like this”.. Whatever my trick worked ;).. Couple of times I told her “You see that’s why I bought you this gift and when I bit my tongue for saying it loud she innocently corrected me saying amma its not you its Santa who gave me the gifts” and I hurriedly replied with a big “yes, yes” nod. I must confess that I have a bigmouth.

She also asked Amma why didn’t you get any gift from Santa? Are you on his naughty list? What to say ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

We visited Pittsburgh perumal templeย during the long New Year weekend. ย It was 7 hours drive from home and we stayed atย Pittsburghย for 2 days and did local sight seeing. The trip was great and adventurous with some unexpected pleasant and unpleasant twists and turns. Details coming up in next post..

And for the virtual treat here is a double layered strawberry flavored cake which I baked for Christmas.. Please to enjoy this until we meet in person for the bigger treat.

I assume this was the bite taken by you all ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

22 thoughts on “Winter show and treat

  1. what is stopping you from joining a dance class? I bet there are great teachers around. I was so glad I went back to Bharatanatyam after marriage in Houston. Now I am looking for a teacher in Singapore. After years of Bharatanatyam, I am thinking of learning Kathak – just to challenge myself – go for it and put yourself first and dance away

    • yes I have to but the problem is the time management which I am very poor at.. I don’t want to just say I have no time.. Its just that I am not managing my time better.. I went for hip hop classes in local for couple of months.. That was good too.. I am now focusing more on gym activities ๐Ÿ™‚ I will definitely get back to Bharathanatyam one day.. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Good luck with Kathak Vini..

  2. you girl should be banned from baking..that looks so yummilicous…yesterday AT wrote about the two tier cake she made and now you…planning to kill us all in India drooling over your cakes is it

    I am not able to open the videos here..will go home and check them out

    Cute that Adi still believes in Santa…errr…so do I…can I get something…even if you dont write in cursive I am fine with it ๐Ÿ™‚

    You did Bharatnatyam as well..awesome..get a teacher and re start na…

  3. Of course, Adi has got your genes! ๐Ÿ™‚

    ‘She also asked Amma why didnโ€™t you get any gift from Santa? Are you on his naughty list?’ – Are you? Are you, Ani??! ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

    And the cake looks yum. I think its high time we stop asking for virtual treats. We are way better off not drooling over it! **Sigh**

    And waiting for the ‘Pittsburgh puraanam’!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • **asking with an innocent face – you know that appaavi pavam pola face**
      do you think I am on the naughty list SnS? do you? do you?
      the puraanam is coming up next ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. CAKE!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ lovely ๐Ÿ™‚ I WANT NOWWWW ๐Ÿ™‚
    Are you on his naughty list? — hahahahaahahaha ๐Ÿ˜›
    Yes Yes definitely your genes !! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I will see the videos at home Okay ? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • what’s there to laugh on me being in naughty list? haan? wait you didn’t any gift from Santa right then you are also in his naughty list? ha ha ha **dancing in joy**

      oh thank you for saying my genes.. I seriously doubt given the way the girl gets glued to her daddy.. ;( seri-ana appa ponnu ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  5. so do you guys write in cursive or no? ๐Ÿ˜›

    yeah yeah make-doing with this virtual treat,sigh!

    the videos are rocking! OMG Adi is a rock-star already…please get an autograph,pliss? ๐Ÿ˜€

    • we don’t even know how cursive looks like as per Adi’s standards **rolling my eyes**

      Shouting out to Adi – One autograph for Scribby mausi..
      Being Adi’s manager I might charge an international courier+sundry expenses for the autograph okie? ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Hi Ani,

    Came here from RM,Scribby,Summerscript,garima – so many of them ๐Ÿ™‚

    Wishing you and your family a very very Happy New Year! And the cake looks YUMMMMMMM…. *drooling*

  7. I want that cake. like right now! You post not one, but 2 pics and expect me not to salivate:|

    Is there any doubt that Adi takes after her amma?! Both the videos are awesome, but i was not able to make out Adi:( All are similarly dressed, of same height, cute:)

  8. That cake looks y.u.m.m.y ๐Ÿ™‚
    I liked the idea of a different handwriting to convince the letter was sent by Santa ๐Ÿ˜‰
    A.w.e.s.o.m.e videos ๐Ÿ˜€
    Hugs to the super sweet Adi and her naughty list topper mum ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Both the links are blocked in my office :-(will watch it at home.Two stage performances way to go Adi.Super proud of you..
    And that cake am just drooling and thinking when will you visit India ,so waana eat that cake ๐Ÿ™‚
    Wow you are a trained dancer,amazing.You managed to make Adi beleive in santa thats great..hope you had a nice trip ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

