Tiger mom

Am I one? The very thought of it is killing me but what can I do when I have to

1. Make her practice pattu once precisely b/w 6 to 6:30pm on Tuesday’s before leaving for the class? She reaches home from school at 6pm and have to leave for the pattu class at 6:30pm.  Her teacher complained that she is not doing well with swarams off late so I had to make her spend some extra time everyday to get back on track. After all, she cannot get it all correct on one single day and it takes few practice sessions to remember them.

2. Make sure that she finishes off her milk in the morning before leaving to school.

3. Say “NO NO” to maggie and other junkies often. Of course the agreement is to have maggie once a month for a weekend breakfast but this girl asks me for maggie every Saturday morning and gets cross with me if say no. Similarly agreements have been made mutually for other junkies like chocolates, chips et all and the same story happens.

4. Make her correct those mistakes and spellings on homework repeatedly until she gets it correct.

5. Fix her screening time to minimal on days she has other stuffs to do. Please to note I don’t say NO, the time is just reduced from the usual allowance.

6. When I say NO to playing “Tic Tac Toe” (her recent addiction) until she wins or when I HAVE to make the move in a way that she wins. Is this fair? When she does this I go singing “not fair! not fair! not fair!” and there the girl gets cross with me.

Often heard golden words from her these days are “Amma you are being so mean to me”.

She is temporarily sleeping in her room with her Appa and I am terribly terribly missing her.  She still reads the bedtime stories with me but my heart aches when I see the girl giving me good night hugs/kisses and leaves the room. Now, who has to be trained to sleep alone. her or yours truly? Sigh!!!

I want to be in her good books and at the same time want to keep up with my responsibility ALWAYS. I go mad if she chooses anyone else over me, even her Appa for that matter.  Talk about being possessive. I know I am not supposed to be like this. Just venting out. This is may be one of my weakness. Please don’t judge.

Motherhood is tough! very tough!!!!!!!!!!

20 thoughts on “Tiger mom

  1. No I don’t think so you are one. These kids do need some disciplining and that is all you are doing. I have seen typical tiger moms and i can say the above for sure. In our house it is the Uno the kids are so addicted to and my elderly aunt was visiting and was of the opinion that i allow them to play cards. Maggi is a big no at our place too but sometimes i am tempted as well.

    • The problem is I go down when she gets cross with me Sumana… Trying to discipline and at the same time to be in their good books is not possible and I go crazy with that 😦

    • yeah its fine.. I think I am not able to bare it, the girl sleeping in the other room with her Appa.. I had never been this jealous RM.. seriously.. I think next to Amma it is this girl that I will find very hard to share.. 😦

  2. Of course you are not, I would pretty much do the same thing like how you mentioned on junk food, screen time etc. Chucky says “Mamma I am not your friend” with a puppy face but I feel it is important for us to teach them the good and bad. You are doing all fine, just don’t feel bad. Tight hugs dear…

    • I do the same too LF.. even i she goes mad at me I always stand very strict on my point but the moment when she says “I am mean” or says “I am not her friend” I cry within myself.. I know it is a passing cloud but still stilll stillll… these girls know how to break our hearts..

  3. Of course not! You are just a regular mum, doing her best! These things happen, they will try to resist discipline, but from what I’ve learnt, if we hold firm, they fall in line. They might resent us for a bit, but as they grow up, they will understand the importance of discipline and what we’ve laboured to teach them Hugs!!

    • same as our relationship with our mother right? that’s all the hope I have.. Yeah, I am very much firm with her on certain things Smitha and she knows them very well..

  4. First things first, your post actually made me smile for all you said has been going on at my end too in an age appropriate for Pari manner for her tantrums are driving the home crazier by the minute and I need to instill discipline in her somehow.

    So chill sweetie we all mums are trying our best doing all you are doing. You are doing just fine!!

    Hugs!!

    • hugs ME.. all that we moms can do is to vent out on the blog and continue with our responsiblity.. 😦 these girls exist to break our heart.. I think its more to do with our change in sleeping routine.. I am fine now..

    • yeah I hope so.. this is the beauty of blogging.. It gives so much relief when you know there are people on the other side experiencing the same as you and are there to cheer you up… thanks LS..

Leave a Reply

