Our Ganesha

Better late than never. Our entry to this month artsy craftsy challenge. This Ganesha was made by Adi with very little supervision from me and this year we made it with home made salt dough.

20130908_223622

 

Thanks to Swaram who has inculcated this idea on us. This is the second year we were making our own Ganesha.  I was not sure about making him until two days before the Chathurthi as I had no clue of where to buy air dry clay.  Even a small box of play dough was so expensive that I was about to drop the plan of  “Our own Ganesha”.  

As the saying goes “where there’s a will there’s a way”, out of nowhere I suddenly got the idea of making Ganesha using salt dough. I wanted to try it first before committing to the in-laws about our plan. So, we tried a small Ganesha on the day before which turned out good and we got approvals for the mission.

20130907_182143 

I made most of the trial Ganesha and Adi watched me with a grumpy face. She was constantly saying that her contribution is nil. So, next day for the real Ganesha I decided to let her do it on her own. As you see in the first picture, ,much to my surprise she did a pretty decent job 🙂 The painting, coloring and all details where her ideas. 

The two Ganesha’s ready for pooja (arranged by FIL. The orange hibiscus and pink flowers are from his garden)

20130909_074902

 

I hope we will continue this tradition in the coming years too. Thank you again Swaram..

 

 

11 thoughts on “Our Ganesha

  1. arey 🙂 it’s so cute:) 🙂 🙂 I love that sundeli and the detailed version of fingers has come out really well 🙂 kudos adi 🙂 🙂

  2. Gosh! Its very very very cute 🙂 This is the best way to celebrate Pillayar Chathurdhi. This year I tried my best to create a pillayar from scratch with clay, but then it didnt happen. Adi has inspired me to create one next year! 🙂

    • thanks gb 🙂 yeah do it next year. As a crafty person you might look for perfection but it doesn’t matter how it turns out. The contentment of having made our own is beyond words 🙂

Leave a Reply

