Amma

You are a god sent angel to me. I am truly blessed to have you in my life. “enna thavam seidhaeno thaayae”.

It has been around 6 hours since you boarded the flight and believe me the house will cry if it had eyes. I am not able to take it at all Amma though I know that it is not fair. I am missing you very badly. Your loud voice is still lingering in the air around.

LHB, after waking up was calling out for “mmachii” as he does every morning when he came downstairs. Adi was feeling bad that she couldn’t get up at that unearthly hour to send you off.

It was tough to see you in wheelchair at the airport. Your health reflects your age but Amma you are my super lady and biggest pillar of support always ready to stay next to me when I need you the most even before I ask for your help. Your presence makes wonders and the impact is more after you have left.

How can you let this happen to your health? In spite of all that leg cramp you have spent most of your time standing in my kitchen. As always, you have cooked and stored even at the tiniest space of the refrigerator. You didn’t have to do that like I always tell you but you hardly listen to me. Why do you have to stretch yourself so much? Something that I never understand!!

I am going to pray to God to spare you alone Amma. Just for me. I hope he will listen to me. Do I sound like a selfish idiot? Let it be. I don’t care. When it comes to you all my life lessons will go for a toss.

I don’t know why but of all the times you have been here, this time I miss you very badly Amma. Thanks to this space for allowing me sulk before I sink in the quicksand aka mundane life.

I cannot repay you for all that you have done to me. All I can do is to observe some of your good qualities and practice in life, to be called as your daughter. Long way to go but that is how I can reciprocate my love to you.

Love you Amma.

10 thoughts on “Amma

  1. Hugs Ani … Warm tight hugs…. Had tears in my eyes reading this…. Today has been a very difficult day for me nothing major but none the less a bad day on all accounts and all I want to do is pour my heart out to my mum…. No matter how old we get or how trivial our woes, we still need our moms…. Hugs honey !!

  2. Awww.. Beautiful Ani. I started truly appreciating my mom only after I became one. Your emotions here echo mine when my mom left a month after my newborn was born. I was maternity leave and didn’t even have the mundane to go back to. The first week is the worst. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

