Be part of history

The recent revolution at Tamil Nadu is something that will keep me proud for a long time to come. It was an initiative taken by people for people to save traditional sport Jallikattu. The unity is something that blew me off. I look at this protest as an outrage of a common man and youngsters to oppose various unacceptable events happening in Tamil Nadu for past 2 months.

This picture was taken when localities at my area united to show our support on last Saturday. There is a lot that happened between now and the time this picture was taken. The whole protest took different unexpected turns due to the power of negative forces in the last 24 hours. Hope it all ends with no harm to common man and youth who had a genuine agenda for this protest.

 

One question that I have is “Would all this have happened if the former chief minister was still alive and in power?” Does this show lack of strong leadership in Tamil Nadu? I am not saying she would have arrived at an unbiased solution but things would have been handled in a different way.

Another thought that I couldn’t avoid is PETA has popularized this traditional sport by banning it. If left alone, this sport would also have died a natural death like many other traditions in next few years. Personally, this is an eye opener for me and the take away is I should do all that is possible to pass on all that I know about my tradition to my offsprings. That is the best I could do and it requires conscious effort living away from home!

6 thoughts on “Be part of history

  1. Even I was thinking the same thing yesterday! Jallikattu would have had a natural death in due time. Just like all other things that were replaced by something else.

    Mindboggling to see where all Tamils have gone to make a living. All those protest gatherings. Not for nothing did they say ‘Thirai kadal odiyum thiraviyam thedu’.
    For a change, Tamils got to see unity and democracy at work. I hope the younger generation in TN keep this in mind. Good leaders are needed for the future.

  2. Hmm..you are right..I too feel if former CM was alive,things would have been different.I think for first 2 to 3 days, protests was in hand of students who genuinely fighted for the cause..But after that, protests fell in to hands of anti social and anti national elements who utilised it for their own selfish interests..Students didn’t have proper leadership for this protest..I think this lack of leadership was both advantage and disadvantage for protests..Effort of students who truly fighted for cause is commendable…

  3. Totally agree with you Ani. Had the former CM been still alive, things might have taken a different course. But then again, she was around last year but did nothing. She was around when Chennai was flooded but did nothing. I am glad that our people are taking things into their hands instead of waiting for politicos. And it is really sad how the peaceful protest was taken away by these miscreants. Man is his own enemy. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

