Archive | January 26, 2011

Pongal – Part 3


Part 1

Part 2

Kaanum Pongal

As the name says (Kaanum in Tamil means visiting) this pongal is meant for visiting friends and relatives.  Today thiruvizha (festival) will be held at the amman temple in neighbourhood village. We get decked up with silk clothes, matching ornaments and go to the festival in either bullock cart or by walk. Most of the people from villages around will get together and this will be treated as a grand gathering by people especially who have migrated away from the village. One can witness god’s procession, pooja, balloons, carousel (ranga rattinam), cotton candy (freshly made), boiled peanuts wrapped in cone shaped newspaper, popcorn, murukku, jackfruit et al at the festival. It will be just fun fun and fun all around with most of the kids holding on to one edge of the rubber band tied to the balloon and hitting it forcefully with palm nonstop… We will return home in the evening exhausted with handful of balloons and other stuffs…

Following this is the packing and teary departure 😦  We depart from our cousins with an aching heart though our next meet will be just months away.. where else will I choose to spend my summer holidays when I can have so much fun at my native? The travel tickets will be booked even before my annual exam starts 🙂 Next day we will reach home around 5 or 6am, snooze for a while and then get into the boring daily life routine… It will feel like entering into a new world with refreshed soul and mind…

The End

Wanna know about how Adi celebrates her pongal?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Its just a two minute job.  We make her yell “Pongal-o-pongal” when the pressure cooker releases the steam. I know I am not doing justice to Adi in anyway after enjoying so much in the name of pongal.  I will try my best to take her to my native for one of the future pongal festival though I cannot guarantee the fun. What fun with most of cousins migrated to different parts of world and without my grandpa? My eyes are welled up now…

Okie dokie Can you guys guess the proof for steam releasing when the picture was taken?

Effort should be noted as you all know how difficult it is for a non-photographer to capture the picture at the right second that too with a proof…