Happy Pongal-Indian gum

அணைவருக்கும் இனிய பொங்கல் திருநாள் நல்வாழ்த்துக்கள்!

Happy pongal to all my lovely readers!

//Copying below from previous year’s pongal post. I will continue to copy this every year as every single word in this will hold true forever and ever

Pongal brings back so much of childhood memories. I am glad to have recorded it all in this blog


My paternal grandpa, my village, home full of elders, relatives visiting every other minute, coffee/tea boiling non stop, pongal cooking in front yard on new mud pot with turmeric plant wrapped around it, mango leaves thoranam, chithappas, periyappas, anna, akka, mama, maami.

Paal pongiyacha?? heard one thousand times in this day, endless eating of farm cut fresh sugarcane. I am glad to have experienced and lived a rich childhood.

Today, I made Sakkarai pongal, Broken wheat ven pongal, 7 kari kootu and Ulundu vadai. M bought sugarcane, the purple one. He sold it to LHB as “Indian gum” 😁 He gave him small pieces, asked to chew and spit the chakkai after the juice is done (typical gum right?) Parenthood also makes you creative 😀

Adi called us just in time to pray and joined us in video call for aarathi ❤️

6 thoughts on “Happy Pongal-Indian gum

Leave a comment